Hays County is served by 9 Emergency Services Districts (ESDs) that provide valuable emergency services such as fire and EMS to residents of Hays County. ESDs are political subdivisions established by local voters for the purpose of raising money through ad valorem taxes on all real property located within the district. Some ESDs also use sales taxes to help fund their district.

Under state law, ESDs must file annual reports with the Texas Department of Agriculture’s Office of Rural Affairs. For more information about the filing requirements and operating requirements for ESDs please visit: https://texasagriculture.gov/GrantsServices/RuralEconomicDevelopment/RuralCommunityDevelopmentBlockGrant(CDBG)/CDBGResources/EmergencyServiceDistricts.aspx

Additional information about ESDs is available from the Texas Association of Fire and Emergency Districts (SAFE-D) at www.safe-d.org.
ESD information including tax rates are submitted to SAFE-D and can be found below:

Below is a list of ESDs and their major areas of responsibility operating in Hays County with links to the ESD website and to their latest Auditor’s Reports:

Hays County ESD #1
North Hays County EMS
Dripping Springs, Driftwood, Henly
HC ESD #1 Audit

Hays County ESD #2
Buda Fire Department operating EMS
HC ESD #2 Audit

Hays County ESD #3
South Hays Fire Department
San Marcos
HC ESD #3 Audit
HC ESD #3 2016 Audit

Hays County ESD #4
Wimberley Fire Rescue
Wimberley, Woodcreek
HC ESD #4 Audit

Hays County ESD #5
Kyle Fire Department
HC ESD #5 Audit

Hays County ESD #6
North Hays County Fire and Rescue
Dripping Springs, Driftwood
HC ESD #6 Audit

Hays County ESD #7
Wimberley EMS
Wimberley, Woodcreek
HC ESD #7 Audit

Hays County ESD #8
Buda Fire Department
HC ESD #8 Audit

Caldwell Hays County ESD #1
Chisolm Trail Fire Rescue
Niederwald, Uhland
CHC ESD #1 Audit

CHC ESD #1 Audit 2016