Office of Emergency Services                                       

                                       Emergency Management Seal

Director  County Judge Ruben Becerra
Emergency Management Coordinator  Kharley Bagley Smith
Fire Marshal  Scott Raven
Emergency Preparedness Coordinator  Mike Jones


The Offices of Emergency Services includes the Office of Emergency Management, the Fire Marshal’s Office and Emergency Preparedness.These offices have individual purposes but work together for the protection of the citizens of Hays County. 

Emergency Management

The Hays County Office of Emergency Management (HCOEM) serves the citizens of Hays County by directing and coordinating emergency management and homeland security programs to prevent/mitigate, prepare for, respond to, and recover from emergencies and disasters.

Fire Marshal

The HCFMO operates under the Texas Local Government Code, Chapter 352, and Subchapter B “County Fire Marshal.” We are committed to enforcing the law and to the prevention and investigation of fire and explosive incidents in the unincorporated areas of Hays County. We work with Federal, State, County and Local Fire and Law Enforcement Agencies. Our goal is to protect and serve the residents and visitors of Hays County from the effects of fire.

Emergency Preparedness

The Hays County Local Health Department’s Emergency Preparedness Program coordinates the countywide public health response to large-scale emergencies and disasters – from naturally occurring ones such as a flu pandemic to those caused accidentally, such as a chemical spill, or intentionally by terrorist attack. The program is responsible for disaster planning, response, recovery and training as it relates to public health.


Mailing Address:

2171 Yarrington Road, Suite 300
Kyle, Texas 78640

(512) 393-7300