Law Enforcement Bureau





The Law Enforcement Bureau provides full-time law enforcement services for residents and visitors of Hays County. The employees of the Law Enforcement Bureau are highly trained in the areas they are assigned to ensure the Hays County Sheriff’s Office can maintain public safety and respond to the community’s needs.  The bureau consists of the Patrol Division, Community Outreach Division, Animal Control Unit, Traffic Unit, and School Resource Officers.


Law Enforcement Bureau
Hays County Sheriff’s Office
1307 Uhland Road
San Marcos, Texas 78666
(512) 393-7800

Captain Mike Davenport

Patrol Division - Day
Lieutenant Ronnie Strain

Patrol Division - Day
Lieutenant Dennis Gutierrez

Patrol Division - Night
Lieutenant Michael Briggs

Patrol Division - Night
Lieutenant Shane Smith

Community Outreach Division
Lieutenant Todd Riffe

Animal Control Supervisor
John Trinidad

School Resource Officers
Sergeant Andrew Wray

Traffic Unit
Sergeant Chris Treat